Bacteria Are the Boss

Were you, like me, wondering about why there are sugars in breast milk that little babycakes can’t digest?

Those sugars are for the microbiome.

You know, the microbiome?

The unique conglomeration of bacteria in each little babycakes’ bodily system? In her mouth, gut, and netherparts?

Seriously, you guys, I’m more and more convinced by these microbiome theories every day. The theories that our bacteria dictate an ever-increasing amount of characteristics of our minds and bodies.

Not that I’m about to give myself a poop transplant. But still.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Bacteria Are the Boss

  1. Inder says:

    That article is awesome. I love this stuff. Have I already sent you to one of my favorite articles? Or more to the point, one of my favorite article *titles*? Every time I read it, I chuckle, and I think about how Strunk & White would approve. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=strange-but-true-humans-carry-more-bacterial-cells-than-human-ones

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Awesome! That is, indeed, an extremely correct headline. Unusually so.
    Also, 10 times more bacterial cells than human cells! that’s incredible! I love it.

  3. roberta4949 says:

    never thought of it that way. interesting.

I'd love to hear what you think!

