Top Adolescent Albums

Meaning, the top albums that capture adolescence. For me.

Meaning, the top albums about sexual frustration first, everything else second.

Inspired by this excellent write-up about one of the 80’s’ most underrated recordings:

1. The Violent Femmes’ debut, especially “Add It Up.”

Special bonus points to TfH’s brother (Hi!) for taking me to see them at the Santa Clara University gym when I was 15 (which is the perfect age for the Violent Femmes), and for buying me a t-shirt that I still wear.

2. Weezer’s Pinkerton. Which I’m no longer that inspired to listen to but which captures the more annoying aspects of adolescence and felt like food, occasionally, on West Coast drives.

3. Rilo Kiley’s The Execution of All Things.  Though now I listen to (most of) More Adventurous to get my Jenny Lewis hit, in part because I don’t really need to feel all that teenage crap again.

4. De La Soul’s 3 Feet High and Rising. For fun. Three is a magic number.

5. Joni Mitchell. Kinda anything, but mostly Blue.

Here’s a live performance of “Carey,” because adolescence is like 70% fantasy. And Joni’s a baller.

6. Sleater-Kinney’s anything, really, but try this. (Sorry that YouTube now sells ads, and I don’t know why the resolution is so cruddy.)

And then this. To class up the joint.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

I'd love to hear what you think!

